

## TCCAO April Retreat April 22-23, 2025 Austin Airport Hilton Hotel

## Tuesday, April 22, 2025

3:00 p.m. Registration

4:00 p.m. **Pre-Retreat Panel Presentation:** 

Succession Planning: Leadership training to develop pipeline for

future leaders at our institutions

Panelists:

Dr. Art Markman, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, UT Austin Dr. Christopher Maynard, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

and Provost, UH Clear Lake

Dr. Mohamed Abdelrahman, Provost and Senior Vice President for

Academic Affairs, TAMUSA

Dr. Mitzi Lauderdale, Vice Provost for Academic Innovation &

Student Success, Texas Tech University

Dr. Amber Smallwood, Professor and Senior Vice Provost, UNT

Health Science Center at Fort Worth

5:00p.m. Reception

6:00 p.m. Dinner and Keynote

Dr. Cynthia L. Hernandez, Vice President for Student Success, Texas

**State University** 

Wednesday, April 23, 2025

8:00 a.m. Breakfast

9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. **Session 1- Campus Updates** 

This is an opportunity for campuses to share updates from their respective campuses and exchange ideas on addressing initiatives,

issues, and programs.

10:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m.- 11:45 a.m. Session 2 - All Things Tenure and Promotion

Dr. Brett Welch, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs,

**Lamar University** 

Dr. Samuel Jator, Senior Associate Provost, Lamar University

Dr. Gene Theodori, Associate Provost, Lamar University

11:45 a.m.- 1:00 p.m. Session 3 - Legislative Update

Jason Smith, Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Government &

Community Relations, University of Houston System

Johanna Sheffield, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Governmental

Relations, Texas State University System

Jeff Jeter, Vice President of Government Relations, University of

**Texas at Arlington** 

1:00 p.m.- 2:00 p.m. Lunch and TCCAO Business Meeting

President: Dr. Christopher Maynard, UH Clear Lake

Vice President: Dr. Deborah Bordelon, UH Downtown Treasurer: Dr. Joshua Adams, Texas Woman's University

Secretary: Dr. Mitzi Lauderdale, Texas Tech University

Past President: Dr. Amber Smallwood, UNT Health Science Center at

Fort Worth

2:00 p.m.- 2:15 p.m. Break

2:15 p.m.- 3:00 p.m. **THECB Update** 

Dr. David Troutman, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Affairs,

**Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board** 

3:00 p.m.- 3:15 pm Adjourn